The Royal Mysore Temples – A Religious Trip

The Royal Mysore Temples – A Religious Trip

By Saoli


Mysore, the 'City of Palaces' is known the world over for its impressive temples and religious sites. The Royal families of the city had a deep religious faith that found its culmination into construction of temples and renovating the already existing ones. Majority of the temples in Mysore are located around the fort. A lot of them are century old, built even before the reign of Wodeyars whereas some were built while they were in power.

Best Mysore Temples


  • Chamundeshwari Temple– Located atop Chamundi hills, this temple is one of the revered temples of the city. The presiding deity here is Goddess Chamundi. The Wodeyar Royal family worshipped this deity for decades. In the beginning, the temple was a small one. But later under the patronage of the Wodeyars, the temple was expanded and it got its current grand look. The Mahabaleswar temple, which is also on Chamundi hills, is even older than this temple.


  • Lakshmiramana Swamy Temple– This is one of the oldest temples of the city, built in 1851, over the Mahaswara (the main entrance) by Raja Wodeyar. In the temple premises, the grand statue of Raja Wodeyar stands on the right side rising to about 2 feet in height. A form of Vishnu Nambinarayana is the main deity of the temple and the sanctum houses a statue of Him that holds the discus and the conch. The right cell from the presiding deity is the chamber of his consort, Goddess Lakshmi. You will come across a lovely statue of Lord Venugopala too in this temple. The beautiful mantapa in the rear side of the temple is quite attractive.


  • Prasanna Krishnaswamy Temple– Built by Krishnaraja Wodeyar III, the Prasanna Krishnaswamy temple is dedicated to Lord Krishna. The construction of this temple began in 1825 and was finished in 1829. The temple houses around 40 bronze statues of saints, Gods, and Goddesses. There is also a statue of Krishnaraja Wodeyar III along with his wives, who are also worshipped. The enclosure of the temple has a figure of the sage and three small stone figures of Paravasudeva, Anathasayana and Rajamannar. The temple’s walls are ornamented with lovely murals that narrate stories from Bhagavat Gita, associated with Lord Krishna. The Janmastami celebration here is a major crowd puller.


  • Trinesvaraswamy Temple– Dedicated to the three-eyed Lord Shiva, this temple is located in the northeast corner of the fort, facing the palace. The architecture of the temple follows Dravidian style and it dates back to even before the reign of Raja Wodeyar (1578-1617). The bank of Devaraya Sagar or Doddakere was the initial location of this temple. However, when the fort premises were expanded by Dodda Devaraja Wodeyar, the temple came within the fort enclosure. Apart from Lord Shiva, Ganapathi and Bhairava are also worshipped here along with Parvathi, Chamundeswari, Suryanarayana and Sankaracharya.


Mysore temples have been renovated by the kinds almost once in a decade. They have survived the ravages of time. These temples are open to all communities and round the year with special celebrations on festive days.